Hume Award Winners 2002 to present

THE HUME AWARD: Coveted award for best volunteer work supporting the club and rugby community demonstrating and personifies the clubs core values, to a non-player (preferably).

This award originally named the Charlton Smith Award in 2001, was renamed the Hume Award in 2018, after the Hume family*.

Nick, Steve, Jim, Andy, Tim, Mark, Jon Hume

BR: Jim, Tim, Jon, Mark, Andy, Bunny (Andy’s wife), Nick and his partner, Steve, Sue (Steve’s wife), Christel (Jon’ wife). FR: Jesse (Andy’s son), Clair (Mark’s daughter), Kate (Andy’s daughter)

BIO: The Hume family have been involved with Velox rugby since the beginning in 1968 to the present. Jim Hume, was one of the co-founders of Velox RFC and the first club President from 1968-1973 on the first Board of Directors, coaching and mentoring as well until the mid-1970’s. His 5 sons followed playing for the club and taking leadership roles within.  Tim Hume played in 1968-1969 only.  Steve Hume played from 1968 to 1974.  Andy Hume played from 1970-75 and was the clubs 2nd President after taking over from his father from 1973-1975 on the Board of Directors.  Mark Hume played from 1968 to 1982, was also Team Captain from 1972-76, and again 1978-1979.  Jon Hume played from 1972 to 1993, took over as Team Captain from his brother Mark in 1979 to 1981.  Coaching and managing numerous teams over the next 20+years.  His wife Christel Hume has been the clubs Treasurer and serving on the Board of Directors for past 20+ years since 1997 to present.

Past Charlton Smith Award winners

  • 2001-2002: Barry Kelly
  • 2002-2003: Jon & Christel Hume
  • 2003-2004: Doug Ware
  • 2004-2005: Barry Wheelhouse
  • 2005-2006: Darryl and Sonoe Gaudreau
  • 2006-2007:  Dr. Bob Mabee
  • 2007-2008: Mark Pratt
  • 2008-2009: Scott Okrainetz
  • 2009-2010: Christel Hume
  • 2010-2011: Barry Wheelhouse/Mike O’Brien
  • 2011-2012: Brian Scanlon
  • 2012-2013: Natalie Talia
  • 2013-2014: John Lyall
  • 2014-2015: Brian Beglau
  • 2015-2016: Rae Roer
  • 2016-2017: Estelle Shelley
  • 2017-2018: Mua Va’a


  • 2018-2019*: Dave “Tito” Phillips
  • 2019-2020:  Kelly Hanvey
  • 2021-2022: Brian Scanlon
  • 2022-2023: Charmaine Ross