George Jones Award Winners 1975 to present

THE GEORGE JONES AWARD; A coveted award to active players only (still playing) who displayed leadership and volunteer work on and off the field to better the club and community above their peers, demonstrating and personifies the clubs core values.  George Jones himself switched the award from a single recipient to a male and female representative starting 2012*.

BIO: George Jones Q.C, was born in Victoria. His father was an Admiral and knew the value of discipline and hence George was sent to Brentwood College School at that time located in Mill Bay, he spent 1 year at Brentwood, the rest at Lakefield in Ontario.  He obtained his law degree from UBC in 1958 and passing his Bar in 1959.  Taking a job as a Senior Tax Counsel for Revenue Canada from 1959-1964, before entering into private law practice. His resume for sport and his profession is lengthy and legendary and includes appearances and successes at virtually every court level, fundraising, coaching, refereeing in many sports and at many levels. George has spent the last 50 years defending individuals in Tax Court and bailing out rugby players from various situations and occasionally and sporadically billing clients strictly on Robin Hood principles. Co-founding Jones Emery Hargeaves Swan law firm in Victoria, downgrading from partner to associate council when he left in late 2000’s.  He joined Horne Coupar Law Firm on a part time bases before retiring from practicing entirely in Feb 2015 after 55 years, earning the Queens Counsel (Q.C.) Honorary Title early in his career, awarded for recognizing Canadian lawyers for exceptional merit and contribution to the legal profession.  George gave thousands of hours both in volunteer positions and through pro bono legal assistance to various clubs and teams in Eastern Canada and locally, including the Vancouver Island Rugby Union, the Crimson Tide, the UVIC Tour of Ireland, Shamrocks Lacrosse, the Junior “A” Cougars, Victoria Athletic Boxing Commission, James Bay Athletic Association and the Velox Valhallians RFC. George states his “Biggest success in life is his 5  children.”  George has been involved in rugby all his life and his accomplishments are amazing. As a young man he played both Club and Representative Rugby, and over the years he served as a Captain for 11 different clubs in 4 different provinces. He played Stand-off, Centre and Fullback, captained all sides at least once. Playing for Vancouver Trojans, Ottawa Beavers, Ottawa Indians, Ottawa Irish, Quebec Provincial team, Toronto Old Boys, Calgary Hornets, James Bay RFC and finally Velox RFC in Victoria. While representing on the Vancouver Island Crimson Tide.  His favorite rugby memory: Scored winning try for Ottawa Beavers Quebec Championship in 1960, ran 60 yards in snow in overtime.  With his playing days behind him, George dove into coaching, administration, fundraising and building, and in the past 40 years he has left a formidable legacy.  George was Club President of the James Bay Athletic Association (JBAA) in the 1960’s, before leaving and helping create the Velox RFC club in 1969, coaching the men’s teams for the next decade in the 1970-80s. As well as assisting with creating Velox’s clubs first women’s rugby team named the Valkyries in 1992 and coaching them throughout the 1990s. One of George’s stellar achievements was as a founder of the Rugby Canada Foundation, where he was the first director as well, launched the Foundation through to a million dollar donation. The Foundation continues to grow and is now funding rugby grants throughout the country. Within the Foundation there is a George F. Jones Scholarship that is designed to help those who may not have a chance for rugby success without some financial assistance. The award is offered country wide, reflecting both George’s travels across the country, and his belief that the Foundation is about serving Canadian Rugby, coast to coast. George’s award is given to a person with tremendous potential to positively influence the direction of rugby in the future. He believes that rugby is a great sport for all Canadians no matter where they are from or what their background.  George was inducted into the Victoria Sports Hall of Fame in 2012 as a builder to the sport of rugby.

Past George Jones Award winners from 1975 to present;

  • 1975-1976: Tom Cooper
  • 1976-1977: Doug Branter
  • 1977-1978: Nigel Banks
  • 1978-1979: Barry Wheelhouse
  • 1979-1980: Gordon Litster
  • 1980-1981: Steve Neish
  • 1981-1982: Barry Kelly
  • 1982-1983: Rob Lavoie
  • 1983-1984: Bob McCliggott
  • 1984-1985: Barry Kelly
  • 1985-1986: Denis Crawford
  • 1986-1987: Gary Roke
  • 1987-1988: Mike Holmes
  • 1988-1989: Mike Holmes
  • 1989-1990: Joe Mathews
  • 1990-1991: Mike Holmes
  • 1991-1992: Dewi Griffiths
  • 1992-1993: Gareth Rowlands
  • 1993-1994: Hans Anderson
  • 1994-1995: Phil Cron
  • 1995-1996: Pam Ponic
  • 1996-1997: Barry Wheelhouse
  • 1997-1998: Steve Holmes
  • 1998-1999: John Lyall
  • 1999-2000: Kim Coyle
  • 2000-2001: Paul Eby
  • 2001-2002: Linda Lee
  • 2002-2003: Paul Eby/Greg Clague
  • 2003-2004: Rod Parker/Yosuke Fujishima
  • 2004-2005: Anthony Mirando
  • 2005-2006: Haley Wickman
  • 2006-2007:  Brian Stanlan
  • 2007-2008: John Lyall
  • 2008-2009: Clay Panga/Aaron Frisby
  • 2009-2010: Derek Pue
  • 2010-2011: Eric Laptinsky
  • 2011-2012: Phil Erb/ Sarah Levson*
  • 2012-2013: Phil Erb/Marlene Donaldson
  • 2013-2014: Jay Jimmo/Marlene Donaldson
  • 2014-2015: Matt Evans/ Brittany Simms
  • 2015-2016: Clay Panga/ Cam Neish/Selina McGinnis
  • 2016-2017: Jay Jimmo/Marlene Donaldson
  • 2017-2018: James Knowles, Brittany Sims
  • 2018-2019: TBD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.